Reasons Why I Love Taiwan

wpid-dsc_0437.jpg
Zhongli, Taoyuan

Though Taiwan is the only country I’ve been outside my home country (Philippines), I still want to share why this little island is worth a visit. It is a small country just above the Philippines. In fact, the size of the Philippines is thrice bigger than Taiwan. So, you would wonder what is in Taiwan that made me fall in love with it. Well, I can tell there’s a lot.

1. Safe and secure environment
In my 1 year and 10 months stay in Taiwan, I’ve only heard less than five huge crimes that happened around the country. It’s pretty surprising right? It is because Taiwan was hailed as the second safest country in the world in 2015. This was according to the survey released by the U.S. lifestyle magazine Presscave. I can tell from my long stay there that they have, indeed, a very safe surrounding. Since I’ve lived in a country where crime, violence and robbery happens in our daily lives, it is a huge surprise for me to see and experience a whole new different environment. In Taiwan I can walk in a crowded street without worrying my bags might be grabbed, or take out my expensive gadgets in a public places without the fear that it might be snatched. Another thing is, people here are friendly and very welcoming.

2. The Food
I remember my first taste of their food, it tasted like something I wouldn’t want to eat again. I had no choice but to get used to their food or else I’d die hungry. Although there are Filipino food stores around, the way they cook the Filipino recipe has still a touch of Taiwanese taste. Eventually, I’ve learn to appreciate the taste of Taiwanese food. They have wide range of food choices. Some of their recipes have an overwhelming smell and taste. But there are some that I really love to eat like Chipie, shabu-shabu, steamed-dumplings, milkteas, stir-fried noodles, and their different versions of pancakes. If you go in Taipei City night market, they have food stalls that offers different variety of food for a very cheap prices.

3. Well preserved nature
I’m really amazed how much they take care of their environment. I’ve noticed that they don’t cut down their trees even if the area is already urbanized. They really preserved it especially the old trees. If you happen to pass through the mountainous area, you’ll see how abundant or rich their country is when it comes to natural resources. I don’t know if this is true but I’ve heard that the reason they don’t cut down their trees is because they’re afraid of flood more than an earthquake.

4. Beautiful Tourist Spots
With a very small land area, you wouldn’t imagine that this country has a lot of picturesque tourist destinations to offer.Β They have many amusement parks, historical landmarks, natural sceneries and beaches. My favorite tourist destinations in Taiwan are Sun Moon Lake, Formosan Aboriginal Park, Taipei Zoo, Yehliu Geopark, and Tamsui. There are actually more to see in this small island than those tourist spots I’ve mentioned.

5. Transportation System
I’ve been living a country where transportation system can be described as a chaos. So, when I experienced Taiwan’s Railway Transportation System, I was really in awe. I’m so amazed how fast and convenient the trains are. I like the fact that you have your ticket pre-booked online. Plus, you can check the time arrival of every train and its destination. Also, their bus transport system is systematized. It has a designated area for pick up and drop off. Just like their train it is also timely and convenient. I wish we have this system in our country.

I’m not saying that I don’t love my country, it’s just that we still have a long way to go achieve this kind of transport system and low crime rate. These are the two things that really disdain me from appreciating more my beloved homeland.

Leave a Reply

